New plans

Amber here with another Trident of Merrow update. We’ve decided to skip the professional editor proofread. My husband, Garin, has agreed to proofread the manuscript (or at least start proofreading) over his spring break next week. He’s sharp and has a critical eye so I think we’ll be good with that. A typo here and there isn’t the end of the world anyway.

Then I’ll register for copyright with the US Copyright Office. It’ll probably take 4-5 months but they say you don’t have to wait to publish because technically your copyright is from when they receive your application (it makes sense; if someone else tried to steal your work and register it as their own the next day, yours would still be recorded as happening first, right?)

After that, Kris and I can see about starting the process of getting it on Amazon and decide if we’re going to do the Create Space thing also so it can be purchased in hard copy, not just e-book.

In other writing news, I’m up to I think around 8000 words of Apertures. I didn’t work on it yesterday. It hasn’t exactly been regular. I worked on it on my snow/ice day that I took on Monday (will this winter go away already, please?!). I’m not one of those writers who sets and sticks to a word count per day. I just write as I feel like it. I think part of it is that I’m requiring more research with this one (though I’ve been to Boston a bunch I don’t know the city that well). When I feel the rhythm of a scene and want to write it, I get hung up on research (and I have been using the tactic of putting in brackets when I need to look something up to save it for later so I don’t lose my groove. The problem is, some of these scenes I really need to know things or I won’t be able to write it).

So really I should do a little research before the next scene. Maybe I can at least do that later today.

-Amber

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://talesofaquan.wordpress.com/2011/03/09/new-plans/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

