The creeping plague

It seems like everyone I know is sick with the same damn thing. We’re all exhausted and coughing. I woke up this morning, having slept well for the first time in a few days, and felt mostly okay except for the sore throat.

Then I coughed, and it felt like someone had kicked me in the chest.

As I was eating breakfast and feeling uneasy in the tummy (I really hate that about being sick) I decided to call in today and go back to bed.

I might get some writing done between naps, or I might just play video games 😉 or read City of Ashes. Yesterday was my “writing day” and I was able to add 1400 words to my SFD (shitty first draft) of Apertures. I wasn’t really happy with it, though, so I ended up going back and adding 1700 more. I know, right? Only I could think that was disappointing when most writers shoot for 500 words a day. Of course I don’t tackle it every day either.

I guess the worse it is now, the more fun it will be to revise later. When they say to learn to love revision, they know what they’re talking about. And I really do love it now. I love cutting out huge chunks and moving stuff all around, knowing I’m making it better.

Here are two tips, which are totally unoriginal, by the way:

1. Don’t be afraid to make a huge change. Just save it under a different file name in case you change your mind.

2. Put all “deleted scenes” into another file for later. You might change your mind and decide you need to add it back in. Or you could use that idea that didn’t really fit into this story in another story.

3. This is one I have to keep reminding myself of: you’re not writing a thesis paper. You don’t need to make sure that this conversation between these two characters hits on this, that, and the other point that you put down in your outline. Let their conversation flow the way it wants, and let your characters take the story and run with it away from you, then run after them to see where they take it. It’s more organic that way. And they always surprise you.

Published in: on April 28, 2011 at 9:17 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://talesofaquan.wordpress.com/2011/04/28/the-creeping-plague/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] The creeping plague « Tavern Tales from The Laughing Maggie The creeping plague It seems like everyone I know is sick with the same damn thing. We're all exhausted and coughing. I woke up this morning, having slept well for the first time in a few days, and felt mostly okay except for the sore . […]


Leave a Reply

